History Of The FIFA World Cup Trophy

History Of The FIFA World Cup Trophy

From the inaugural World Cup championship till 1970, the winners of the World Cup had been introduced with the Jules Rimet Trophy, initially called the World Cup (or worldcups Coupe du Monde, in French). Designed as a stable gold winged determine of Nike, the Greek Goddess of Victory, created by French sculptor Abel Lefleur, in 1946, the cup was renamed after Jules Rimet, the FIFA president credited with establishing the primary tournament.

In 1970, after having won the World Cup 3 times, Brazil was allowed to maintain the World Cup trophy in its groups' possession permanently in accordance with an early specification for teams to accumulate everlasting possession within the event of three WC wins. However, the group truly only maintained possession of the trophy until 1983 - that yr, it was stolen from its display box on the Brazilian Football Association in Rio de Janeiro and has by no means since been recovered, believed to have been melted down by its thieves. A German goldsmith created a duplicate for the affiliation to display, which was donated by Kodak of Brazil. The Cup had been stolen and recovered before - once in 1966, for ransom just earlier than the beginning of that year's World Cup finals in London, but was soon recovered by a canine named Pickles who followed the scent of the trophy to a backyard hedge the place the thief had aimed to hide it. Then years later, its top had stolen by a younger spectator within the midst of the Brazilian staff's 1970 celebration, however had also been recovered quickly after.

With the Brazilian crew's entitlement to maintain the original trophy permanently, 1970 launched a new trophy, called the FIFA WC Trophy. FIFA specialists from seven countries evaluated fifty three fashions, and settled upon the design of Italy's Silvio Gazzaniga, whose design was about 14 inches tall, thirteen ½ pounds, and made of strong 18 carat gold as a sculpture of two athletic figures rising in victory, arms stretched out with the earth hoisted above them. Engraved on the underside of the trophy are the years and names of every FIFA World Cup winner since 1974. In 2042, when the name plaque of the present trophy becomes full - with only enough capability for the names of the 17 winners from the 1974-1938 World Cups - the trophy might be retired completely to the FIFA headquarters, and a new trophy will likely be introduced.

The successful nation enjoys possession of the sports award until the next year's championship, when it will likely be passed along to the new champions. After giving up possession of the original solid gold trophy, nonetheless, the winning crew receives a gold-plated duplicate to keep. Before 1978, the eleven players who had been on the pitch on the end of the final and third place match also obtained medals. Now every year's top three groups' players and coaches receive gold (for winners), silver (for runners-up), and bronze (for third place) medals with a WC Trophy insignia. In 2007, FIFA announced that the winning World Cup team members from 1930-1974 would also be granted medals retroactively. After the 2002 WC, 4th place medals were additionally introduced, to the team for the Cup's hosts, South Korea.


Contact Address

Shivshakti CHS, A-Wing, 1st Floor, Next to Sahakari Bhandar, S.K. Bole Road, Agar Bazar, Prabhadevi, Mumbai:400025
Tel: +91-22-24311614, 24311616.
FAX : +91-22-2431631,
MOB: +91-9870540453
Mail : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

NGO | Foundation | Faith Health | Teen Care | Charitable Trust | Children Healthcare | Healthcare Senior Citizen | Teenagers | Seminars for Health Care.